International super-group pays tribute to Goodbye to Gravity

“Horizons”, recorded by international super-group Nightshadows Lament, with members from My Dying Bride, Tristania, Apoptygma Berzerk, Mortiis, Hellbound Hearts or Green Carnation, is a new single from the album Back to Life – A Tribute to Goodbye to Gravity, album that contains Goodbye to Gravity songs recorded by various international bands. This is a charitable project as all the profits will be donated to the GTG members and families and to the victims from the Colectiv Club tragedy from Bucharest, Romania, happened on October 30th 2015 during the release show of the “Mantras of War” album, when an unexpected fire from the pyrotechnics caused 64 victims (including 4 out of the 5 GTG members) and hundreds of injured ones.

The album can be streamed or downloaded at the below link:

CD’s can be ordered from here:

The single can be listened here:

Nightshadows Lament is:

  • Kjetil Nordhus (Green Carnation / Tristania / Subterranean Masquerade) – voce
  • Shaun MacGowan (My Dying Bride) – chitara, keyboard
  • Thomas Emil Jakobsen (Apoptygma Berzerk / Animal Alpha / Mortiis) – tobe
  • Danny Lambert (Hellbound Hearts) – bass

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Shaun declared:

Although I wasn’t aware of Goodbye To Gravity before October I’ve had the pleasure playing in Romania several times making many great friends along the way. It is truly saddening for such an incident to happen at any music event, but in our own subculture and with friends present hits close to home. We hope our take on the track ‘Horizons’ will be an honourable tribute to both Goodbye To Gravity and all those affected.

The song was recorded and mixed by Kenneth Lykkas at Head Disco Studios and mastered by Luculescu Alin Gabriel.

Nightshadows Lament originated as a doom/black metal project in 2005 with music written by Shaun MacGowan and vocals performed by several others on EPs ‘Isolophobia’ and ‘Prayers Gone Unheard’. The project lay dormant until 2016 when resurrected for tribute to Goodbye To Gravity and those affected by the tragedy in October 2015.

Full album tracklist:

01 – Cruadalach (Czech Republic) – Waking Up

02 – Outbreak (Romania) – Unusual Suspects

03 – Changing Skins (Romania) – Vanishing Point

04 – Nightshadows Lament – Horizons

05 – Stonelight feat. Toni Dijmarescu (Romania) – I Won't Wait

06 – Anna Murphy (ex-Eluveitie – Switzerland) – Through It All

07 – Bruma (Romania) – Between the Tides

08 – Bedårande Barn (Sweden) – Back to Life (acoustic)

09 – Days of Confusion & Vița de Vie (Romania) – The Day We Die

10 – News from Nowhere (Romania) – Shadow Puppets

11 – Wind Rose (Italy) – Atonement

12 – Sequence (Serbia) – Four Minutes of Rage

13 – Matricide (Israel) – Rise From the Fallen

14 – L.O.S.T. (Romania) – Heed the Call

15 – Bucium (Romania) – What If

16 – Mindcage Escape (Romania) – This Life Is Running Out

17 – Spaceman (Goodbye To Gravity Version) – Babylon Zoo cover

Contact Nightshadows Lament:

Contact U Rock / Universal Music Romania:

Goodbye to Gravity:




About Matthew Blaine

Matty "MudShovel" Blaine enjoys anime, cycling, gaming, comics, music, movies, mountain biking, snowboarding, and so much more. He likes to let his family, friends, and the members of the WoodShed community know his thoughts on these things, and is the main writer and reviewer of the WoodBangers Entertainment website. All articles written that are reviewed by him are his 100% honest opinion because he doesn't believe in lying to those who trust him. He wants people to know that if that movie or game that all the critics are saying is great is really just overhypes Hollywood-spew or the real deal, so you don't waste your money and regret seeing or getting something. Remember, he's not getting paid to be another yes-man. He is not afraid to tell what he honestly thinks and feels about something. If it is great, there will be no doubt about it; if he doesn't like it, there will be zero doubt there. All reviews are HIS opinion and his opinion alone. They do not express the thoughts of everyone at WoodBangers, nor is he paid to write his reviews. If you disagree with his opinion and thoughts on something, that is fine, you are allowed to have your own opinion. If you take offense to his opinions, then please feel free to leave because he is not here to make everyone happy. He professionally writes and his reviews can be found on IMDb, Rotten Tomatoes, Yelp, IGN, Crunchyroll, and many other sites. Also be sure to follow Matty on Steemit

Matty streams live game play on Twitch, talks about products in stream; and spends time with all of the community daily. He writes software, websites, and does server-side setup and securities for tons of companies. He has a ton of projects from building his YouTube Channel, promoting his local area (Scottsdale AZ), helping with game development, doing press for 15k Game Studios, doing press for 1k major record labels, well... this list just keeps going; what doesn't Matty do?

Support the Phoenix Children's Hospital click here

Visit My Website
View All Posts